41 Finalists Named for the 2020 Hertz Fellowships

February 6, 2020
Hertz Staff

The Fannie and John Hertz Foundation today announced 41 finalists for the 2020 Hertz Fellowship in applied science, mathematics, and engineering. Selected from more than 800 applicants across 24 universities, the finalists advance to a culminating round of interviews for one of the most competitive and coveted fellowships in the nation. The 2020 class of Hertz Fellows will be announced in May.

Since 1963, the Hertz Foundation has granted fellowships empowering the nation’s most promising young minds in science and technology. Hertz Fellows receive five years of funding valued up to $250,000, with the freedom to pursue innovative projects wherever they may lead. In addition to financial support, the foundation provides ongoing mentoring, symposia, and retreats to build a network of peers, providing fellows a forum to share ideas and explore opportunities throughout their careers.

“Hertz Fellowships fuel outstanding science and technology talent at a critical time in their early career development,” said Robbee Baker Kosak, Hertz Foundation President. “We are honored and excited about this year’s uniquely gifted pool of finalists.”

The Hertz Foundation is dedicated to advancing groundbreaking applied science with real-world benefits. In identifying a fellow, the selection committee seeks out the most extraordinary candidates who are best positioned to become leaders in their fields and address the most pressing challenges facing society, ranging from developing better therapies for cancer to transforming modern computing.

Over the foundation’s 57-year history of awarding fellowships, its 1,226 Hertz Fellows have established a remarkable track record of accomplishments. Their ranks include two Nobel laureates; eight recipients of the Breakthrough Prize; and winners of the Turing Award, the Fields Medal, the National Medal of Technology, and the National Medal of Science. In addition, 43 are members of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, and 29 are fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Hertz Fellows hold over 3,000 patents, have founded more than 200 companies, and have created hundreds of thousands of science and technology jobs.

About the Fannie and John Hertz Foundation

The Fannie and John Hertz Foundation is a not-for-profit organization changing the world around us by granting freedom of American scientific research and innovation through fellowship and financial support. Launched in 1963, the Hertz Fellowship is the most exclusive fellowship program in the world. Our 1,200+ Hertz Fellows are the leaders, shapers, and disruptors of American science, engineering, and mathematics. We welcome philanthropic partners to join in support of Hertz Fellowships. For more information, visit www.hertzfoundation.org.

Finalists are listed with their field of study and most recent university affiliation.

Name General Field of Study Present or Recent School
Alexander Alabugin Chemistry MIT
Anastasios Angelopoulos Computer Science and Engineering UC Berkeley
Siranush Babakhanova Bioengineering and Computational Biology MIT
Shankar Balasubramanian Physics MIT
Adam Berger Bioengineering MIT, Harvard University
Daine Danielson Physics University of Chicago
Alyssa Dayan Computer Science MIT
Spencer Doyle Physics Harvard University
Logan Engstrom Computer Science MIT
Ethan Epperly Applied Mathematics UC Santa Barbara
Claire Evensen Quantitative Biology University of Wisconsin-Madison
Wanying Fu Astrophysics Pomona College
Marisa Gaetz Mathematics MIT
Jakob Grzesik Electrical Engineering/Applied Physics Rice University
Daniel Gurevich Applied and Computational Mathematics Georgia Institute of Technology
Abraham Herzog-Arbeitman Chemistry MIT
Nathanael Kazmierczak Chemistry Calvin University
Abijith Krishnan Physics Harvard College
Rohith Kuditipudi Computer Science and Engineering Duke University
Hannah Lawrence Applied Mathematics and Statistics Yale University
Owen Leddy Biological Engineering University of Chicago
Calvin Leung Physics Harvey Mudd College
Srinivas Mandyam Physics University of Pennsylvania
Isaac Metcalf Materials Science MIT
Albert Musaelian Applied Mathematics University of Oklahoma
Nolan Peard Physics MIT
Maya Sankar Applied Mathematics and Statistics MIT
Jillian Silbert Quantitative Biology and Bioengineering Princeton University
Jean Somalwar Astronomy Princeton University
Jasmine Stone Neuroscience Yale University
Douglas Stryker Mathematics MIT
Vikram Sundar Quantitative Biology and Bioengineering University of Cambridge
Anna Thomas Computer Science University of Cambridge
Constantine Tzouanas Biological Engineering MIT
Nicolas Valdes Meller Physics Universidad de Chile
Julian Van Der Made Earth and Environmental Engineering Columbia University
Maya Varma Computer Science Stanford University
Tanay Wakhare Computer Science University of Maryland, College Park
Sophie Walton Quantitative Biology and Bioengineering California Institute of Technology
Maxwell Wang Machine Learning and Neuroscience University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University
Katherine Xiang Physics Johns Hopkins University