41 Finalists Named for the 2019 Hertz Fellowships

February 20, 2019
Hertz Staff

The Fannie and John Hertz Foundation has announced the 41 finalists for this year’s PhD fellowship in applied science, math and engineering. Selected from over 840 applicants, 10 of the finalists will be chosen to receive one of the most competitive and coveted fellowships in the nation.

Each of the selected 2019 Hertz Fellows will receive up to five years’ academic support valued up to $250,000, as well as the freedom to pursue innovative research wherever it may lead. The recipients of the 2019 Hertz Foundation Fellowship will be notified in April.

“Once again, our finalists are an extraordinary talented group,” said Robbee Baker Kosak, Hertz Foundation President. “Though the final decision will be a very difficult one, I look forward to the selection and announcement of the 2019 Fellowship awardees with much anticipation.”

Since 1963, the Fannie and John Hertz Foundation has granted five-year fellowships empowering the nation’s most promising young scientists, engineers and mathematicians. One of the nation’s most competitive fellowships, the Foundation also helps catalyze collaboration among its Fellows, a community that has grown over six decades and includes 1,200 scientists, engineers, innovators and business leaders. Hertz Fellows include scientists and engineers who have been honored with the Nobel Prize, the National Medal of Science, the Turing Award, the Breakthrough Prize, and the MacArthur Foundation “genius” grant. Fellows have founded more than 200 companies, hold more than 3,000 patents, and have created hundreds of thousands high-technology jobs. Thirty-nine Fellows are members of the National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine.

The Hertz Foundation is dedicated to advancing groundbreaking applied science with real-world benefits for all humanity.

View the printable 2018 Hertz Fellowship Finalists list >>

Name General Field of Study Present or Recent School
Daniel Assumpcao Applied Physics California Institute of Technology
Alexander Atanasov Physics Harvard University
Dolev Bluvstein Applied Physics and Astronomy UC Santa Barbara
Frederick Brooks Chemistry and Chemical Biology Princeton University
Dylan Cable/td> Quantitative Biology and Bioengineering MIT
Jason Calvin Chemistry UC Berkeley
Alex Chen Quantitative Biology and Bioengineering Harvard University
Nick Choksi Physics UC Berkeley
Jordan Edmunds Engineering UC Berkeley
Logan Engstrom Computer Science MIT
Benjamin Eysenbach Computer Science and Engineering Carnegie Mellon University
Bailey Flanigan Computer Science and Engineering University of Wisconsin-Madison
Benjamin Foutty Physics Columbia University
Mark Gillespie Computer Science Carnegie Mellon University
Chris Giuliano Synthetic Biology MIT
Noah Golowich Computer Science Harvard University
Alexander Hwang Applied Physics and Astronomy Rice University
Lev Kendrick Physics MIT
Benjamin Kuznets-Speck Biophysics UC Berkeley
Patrick Ledwith Physics MIT
Maya Lewinsohn Quantitative Biology University of Washington, Seattle
John Lindsey Quantitative Biology Stanford University
Rebekah Loving Computational Biology University of Hawaii at Hilo
Melissa Mai Quantitative Biology and Bioengineering Johns Hopkins University
Nitya Mani Mathematics and/or Computer Science Stanford University
Shyam Narayanan Applied Mathematics and Statistics Harvard University
Hunter Nisonoff Computational Biology Duke University
Grace Pan Physics Harvard University
Saranesh Prembabu Applied Physics MIT
Daniel Richman Applied Mathematics/ Computational Science MIT
Andrew Saydjari Physics Harvard University
Muhammad Shamim Bioengineering Rice University
Nathaniel Tarshish Earth and Planetary Sciences UC Berkeley
Jacqueline Turner Molecular Biology and Biochemistry University of Colorado, Denver
Constantine Tzouanas Bioengineering Rice University
Alexander White Engineering California Institute of Technology
Kelly Xia Chemistry Harvard University
Lisa Yang Computer Science MIT
David Zimmerman Biophysics Harvard University
Jonathan Zong Computer Science MIT
Nina Zubrilina Mathematics Stanford University