Jeff Gore and Ed Boyden Recipients of 2012 NIH Awards

September 13, 2012

Hertz Fellow Jeff Gore, PhD, is a recipient of a 2012 NIH Director's New Innovator Award and Hertz Fellow Edward S. Boyden, MD, PhD is a recipient of a 2012 NIH Director's Transformative Research Project Award.

From the NIH Office of Communications:

The NIH Director's Pioneer, New Innovator, and Transformative Research awards encourage creative thinkers to pursue exciting and innovative ideas about biomedical and behavioral research. The Pioneer award, established in 2004, challenges investigators at all career levels to develop highly innovative approaches that have the potential to produce a high impact on a broad area of biomedical or behavioral research. The Transformative Research awards program, established in 2009, promotes cross-cutting, interdisciplinary approaches and is open to individuals and teams of investigators who propose research that has the potential to create or overturn fundamental paradigms. The New Innovator award initiative, established in 2007, supports investigators who are within 10 years of their terminal degree or clinical residency, but who have not yet received a Research Project Grant (R01) or equivalent NIH grant, to conduct exceptionally innovative research.

In 2012, the NIH is awarding 10 Pioneer awards, 51 New Innovator awards, and 20 Transformative Research awards. The total funding, which represents contributions from the NIH Common Fund and multiple NIH institutes and centers, is approximately $155 million.

For more information, go to the NIH News.