Hertz Foundation Announces 2011-2012 Fellows

March 31, 2011

The Hertz Foundation Selects Fifteen Young Leaders in Applied Science and Engineering to Receive Nation’s Most Generous PhD Fellowships

– Financial support valued at more than $250,000 per student

Livermore, CA – March 31, 2011 – The highly respected Fannie and John Hertz Foundation, giving generous support to young leaders in applied sciences and engineering, today announced selection of its 2011-2012 Hertz Fellows. The Fellowship, valued at more than $250,000 per student, goes to 15 new recipients, who will receive financial support lasting up to five years of their graduate studies.

“We are pleased to announce this year’s Fellows,” stated Dr. Jay Davis, Hertz Foundation President. “These men and women show extraordinary promise to carry forward the mission of this Foundation. They join the community of leaders who produce advances in science, medicine, technology, business, academia and government. Scientists and engineers are only 4% of the U.S. workforce but they account for up to 85% of the GDP. The top 1% is responsible for 90% of the important discoveries. We believe that their creativity and risk-taking bring forth innovation for the most pressing problems we face today.”

The new Hertz Fellows were selected from an elite pool of 558 applicants. The fifteen include four women and eleven men. Two are members of the military, with one having completed two tours of combat duty. Computer science, electrical engineering and chemistry are found to be the prevalent areas of focus within the group. As undergraduates, three were previously awarded the prestigious Goldwater Scholarship for excellence in pursuit of careers in science, mathematics and engineering.

“Hertz Fellowships are unique, no-strings-attached fellowships, allowing the freedom to innovate,” continued Davis. “Hertz Fellows pursue their own ideas with financial independence under the guidance of some of our country’s finest professors and mentors. Fellows are chosen for their intellect, their ingenuity and their potential to bring meaningful improvement to society. The Hertz Foundation nurtures these remarkable scientists and engineers as they develop and explore their genius. We believe they show the most promise to change the world.” 

About the Hertz Foundation

Since 1963, the Fannie and John Hertz Foundation has focused on empowering young scientists and engineers with the freedom to innovate in their doctoral research. The Hertz Foundation has provided the nation’s most generous PhD fellowships to nearly 1100 gifted young men and women. The highly competitive selection process includes a comprehensive written application, four references, and two rounds of technical interviews by recognized leaders in applied science and engineering. In addition to supporting the Fellows in their graduate education, the Foundation provides unique seminars, workshops and symposia that take place away from their campus environments. These gatherings expose the in-school Fellow to national leaders and researchers, many of whom are alumni Fellows of the Foundation.


New 2011-2012 Hertz Fellows, displayed by name, undergraduate or current school, and field of study, are:

Megan Blewett Harvard University Chemistry
Thomas Dean U.S. Military Academy at West Point Electrical Engineering
Robin Deits Massachusetts Institute of Technology Physics
Jesse Engreitz Harvard/Massachusetts Institute of Technology Quantitative Biology
Grant Gillary U.S. Naval Academy Physics
Max Kleiman-Weiner Oxford University/Stanford Applied Statistics
Kyle Loh Rutgers University Chemical Biology
Katie Maass University of Texas, Austin Chemical Engineering
Stephen Miller University of California, Berkeley Electrical Engineering/Computer Science
Cameron Myhrvold Princeton University Molecular Biology
Kay Ousterhout Princeton University Computer Science
Nevada Sanchez Massachusetts Institute of Technology Engineering
Mollie Schwartz Columbia University Chemical Physics
Thomas H. Segall-Shapiro University of California, Berkeley/San Francisco Bioengineering
Max Shulaker Stanford University Electrical Engineering




More stories on the Fellows Announcement:
Katie Maass from University of Texas at Austin
Katie Maass from Statesman.com
Cameron Myhrvold from Princeton University
Kay Ousterhout from Princeton University
Thomas Dean from West Point